Member of :
Home > News > Ghosh/ Naik and Abhilash/ Gowda top in Coimbatore

Ghosh/ Naik and Abhilash/ Gowda top in Coimbatore

Comments are Off

Amittrajit Ghosh (co-driver Ashwin Naik) of Team Mahindra Adventure won the opening round of the MRF FMSCI Indian National Rally Championship (INRC), while Abhilash PG (co-driver Srikanth Gowda) bagged top honours in the first round of the MRF FMSCI Indian Rally Championship (IRC) at the MRF Rally of Coimbatore last weekend.

Ghosh and Naik overcame tough competition to claim victory with an overall time of 1:03:14.9,  followed by teammates Sunny Sidhu and Srinivas Murthy PV as the first runners-up (1:03:59.3) and Dean Mascarenhas and Shanmuga SN as the second runners-up (1:04:23.3) at the rally organised by Coimbatore Auto Sports Club.

Mascarenhas and Shanmuga also won the INRC 2000cc category, while KJ Jacob and Manoj Mohanan won the FMSCI Cup (01:08:41.1), according to a release from the championship promoters Ramakrishna Race Performance Management (RRPM).

Indian drivers in Indian cars are eligible to take part in the 2016 INRC, while Indian or Foreign drivers in Indian or Foreign cars are eligible for the IRC. INRC and IRC are two separate championships and their results are not clubbed together or compared as they run distinctively different vehicles.

The rally zipped through six stages covering about 75 kms of gravel roads in and around Kethanur on the outskirts of Coimbatore. Thirty-nine cars from across the country took part in the rally.

“Great start to the season, the team worked really hard to get the cars ready and this win is because of them,” Amittrajit Ghosh was quoted as saying in the release.

The second round of the five-round championships will be held at Nashik on Aug 27 and 28.

Mr Venkatesh, Manager, Mahindra Adventure, gave away the trophies in the presence of Mr. Arindam Ghosh, Director, RRPM.