Member of :
Home > Women in Motorsport > Natraj makes it double by winning rally of Indore

Natraj makes it double by winning rally of Indore

Comments are Off

TVS Racing again tops the charts with Aishwarya PM and Imran Pasha too winning their respective classes for second straight week

Indore: TVS Racing rider R Natraj completed a double by winning National Rally title on back-to-back Sundays to improve his chances in the six-round MRF MoGrip FMSCI National two-wheel Rally Championship, here at Chinar Hills in outskirts of Indore.

2The 2017 Desert Storm champion Natraj was way ahead of the competition in overall category beating privateer Sanjay Kumar by over 2 minutes. In his class, Natraj, riding RTR450FX, was lone contestant given that his teammates, Aravind KP and the defending champion Abdul Waheed Tanveer, were away in Morocco competing in the Dakar Challenge Rally of Merzouga, which began on Sunday.

Competing in Class 1, Natraj seemingly took firm grip over the title with found rounds remaining-the third round scheduled in Pune and fourth in Nashik on back-to-back Sundays this month end.

Pune’s Sanket Shanbhag had to settle for third position in Class 1A category. Riding Yamaha WR450, Shanbhag took 53 minutes 07 seconds to compete the three stages, which was four minutes slower than the second-placed Yashraj Rathore, who rode Husqverna350. Bangaluru’s Sanjay Kumar, however, kept his cool on his Honda CRF450 to win the class.

As many as 33 riders started in different categories on Sunday at Hotel Bee Town before they headed to Chinar Hills, which provided ideal conditions for the off-road rally.

TVS Racing had a mixed outing as Imran Pasha won the Class 3 title on his RTR160cc, but Rajendra RE was disqualified in Class 4 on RTR 2004V bike. He completed the first two stages, before he was disqualified in the third and final stage.

Dehradun’s Shardul Sharma, riding a Hero Impulse won the class, with Vipul Prajapati taking the second position.

In the ladies class, Aishwarya PM, the Bengaluru girl, who won the National Racing title last year, was the winner again on her RTR 2004V bike riding for TVS Racing team.