Member of :
Home > News Flash > MRF Tyres are the 2022 European Rally Champions

MRF Tyres are the 2022 European Rally Champions

Comments are Off

Team MRF Tyres takes the FIA European Rally Championship with two rounds remaining for the first time ever

Team MRF Tyres with Efrén Llarena and Sara Fernández are the new 2022 FIA European Rally Champions. Team MRF Tyres secures the championship with two rounds to spare of the eight round 2022 FIA ERC Championship, demonstrating the high performance and success the team has demonstrated throughout the ERC

It is the first FIA ERC title for MRF Tyres, having only come to the Championship in 2020, to take on, compete and then beat the world’s best.

This victory comes close on heels of the success that Team MRF Tyres has enjoyed with victories in the Finnish Rally Championship and Italian Rally Championship in 2021. The FIA ERC title is the result of the immense effort the team has put in over the last three years.

The year 2022 has been equally rewarding for Team MRF Tyres with wins in the Azores Rallye, and podiums in Rally Islas Canarias and Liepaja Rally for Llarena and Fernández. A further win for Mārtiņš Sesks and Renars Francis followed in Latvia, winning every stage of the event. Simone Campedelli and Tania Canton took second place at Rally di Roma Capitale.

Mr. Arun Mammen, Vice-Chairman & Managing Director, MRF Tyres said, ““It is a very happy and momentous occasion to capture this first European Rally Championship for us at MRF Tyres. It is a testament to the work put in by our entire team to come up with Championship winning tyres which have performed at the top most level in European rallying thereby showcasing our superior technical capabilities. I would like to congratulate Efrén Llarena and Sara Fernández for achieving this feat, and our other drivers who have supported our Team in achieving this historic effort. It is indeed a very prestigious and proud moment for us to be crowned European Rally Champions 2022.”

The outstanding and consistent performance with the team, allowed them to take the Championship with two rounds remaining. The team of Llarena and Fernández has been a successful one for the team. They have proven equal to the challenge of competing with the world’s best and have been strong and consistent throughout the championship.

Efrén Llarena, FIA European Rally Championship, Driver’s Champion, Team MRF Tyres said, ““I can’t stop smiling! I would like to thank everyone at Team MRF Tyres. The commitment and work from the entire team over the last seasons has made this possible. We have worked hard this year and I am very proud to take the title with MRF Tyres. This is the result over the year of work. For us, and for MRF Tyres to be able to win a Championship at European level is a great achievement. To win it with the two rounds to spare demonstrates what a great product MRF Tyres has given us.

I am now looking forward to the rest of the season and we will continue to push for more great results!”

Sara Fernández, FIA European Rally Championship, Co-Driver’s Champion, Team MRF Tyres said, “I am really happy. This is my second co-driver’s title but this one is better because I can share it with Efrén and the entire team at MRF Tyres. “I would like to thank everyone at MRF Tyres. They gave us the most important opportunity of our life and they gave us an amazing tyre to rally on. We would not be in this position without the hard work and dedication from the team. “From our win in the Azores and our podiums this year, we have a great year, and I am looking forward to more success with MRF Tyres.”

Mr. Iain Campbell, FIA European Rally Championship Manager said, “On behalf of WRC Promoter and the FIA ERC, I’d like to pass on my congratulations to Efrén Llarena and Sara Fernández on becoming our 2022 champions. They have performed exceptionally all season. Furthermore, I also want to congratulate Team MRF Tyres on making history with this breakthrough win.”