Member of :
Home > News > Competition hotting up in JK Tyre-FMSCI National Rotax Karting Championship

Competition hotting up in JK Tyre-FMSCI National Rotax Karting Championship

Comments are Off

Old rivalries will resume, while new ones will begin, as the action moves to the Chicane circuit at the Leonia Resort in Hyderabad for the second round of the 2016 JK Tyre-FMSCI National Rotax Karting Championship this weekend.

After intense competition across the three classes representing Micro Max (7-12 years), Junior Max (13-16 years) and Senior Max (above 15 years) that dominated the opening round of the championship, the heat will be on the championship leaders to maintain their pole position, a release from the organisers said.

“The first round of the 2016 JK Tyre-FMSCI National Rotax Karting Championship produced absolutely thrilling races

that speaks volumes about the quality of the grid this year. It comes as no surprise that as many as 11 drivers from this year’s grid are competing in various classes in international karting championships. The depth of talent on show proves that our karting programme that aims to develop the sport from the grassroots level is yielding results,” Mr. Sanjay Sharma, head Motorsports and Corporate Communication, JK Tyre & Industries Ltd, was quoted as saying in the release.

In the Senior Max category, defending national champion, Ricky Donison, who dominated the proceedings from unofficial practice session to the final race in the opening round, will remain the man to beat.

Although, Ameya Bafna of Rayo Racing, who came to the fight with very little track time under his belt and managed to close the gap considerably by the time of the final race, would still need to up his game by a few notches if he hopes to beat the runaway BPC driver in the second round of the championship.

Placed third on the points table, Nayan Chatterjee of Meco Racing will be looking forward to put aside the set-up issues that plagued him in the first round in his bid to unlock more speed from his kart in order to mount a serious challenge for championship lead.

To this mix, the presence of Vishnu Prasad, also of Meco Racing, who has won multiple national titles in both karting and FB02 class in the JK Tyre National Racing Championship, can upset the calculations of the top three in the championship standings.

In the Junior Max category, a four-way fight is expected between Manav Sharma from Faridabad and the three Meco Racing drivers, Nirmal Umashankar, Paul T Francis and Yash Aradhya.