Member of :
Home > News > Chinnappa denies Narendran a clean sweep at MMRT

Chinnappa denies Narendran a clean sweep at MMRT

Comments are Off

Bengaluru’s Deepak Paul Chinnappa (Race Concepts ENEOS) denied title favourite Arjun Narendran from Coimbatore (Red Rooster Racing) a clean sweep in the Indian Touring Cars class by winning the third outing in the MRF MMSC FMSCI Indian National Racing Championship at the MMRT track in Sriperumbudur, on Sunday (July 17).

Arun Mammen, Managing Director, MRF Ltd., (extreme right) with Vikash Anand (centre), who won a double, Anindith Reddy (left) and third placed Raghul Rangasamy (July 17)Equally impressive performances came from Chennai competitor Vikash Anand, who scored a double in the MRF F1600 class as also Raghul Rangasamy, who won both the races in the F1300 Rookie Championship, while Mumbai’s Ananth Pithawalla (Team N1) won the Indian Junior Touring Cars race and private entrant Deepak Ravikumar took the honours in the Super Stock category, according to a press release from the organisers.

Starting second, Chinnappa eased past pole-sitter Ashish Ramaswamy (Red Rooster Racing) when the lights went off and built up a commanding lead. Meanwhile, Narendran, who had won both the previous races, did well to move to third after starting last on the grid and then went past Ramaswamy to slot in behind Chinnappa, but could not gain another place. Ramaswamy finished third.

“I had a good start and managed to build a big lead. I was concerned about preserving the tyres which were wearing out fast, and over the last few laps, I had to brake at least 150 metres earlier than normal, but the early lead helped me to maintain my track position to win,” said the 29-year old Chinnappa who thus chalked up his second win in eight starts this season.

Deepak Paul Chinnappa (centre), winner of the Indian Touring Cars race flanked by Arjun Narendran (left) who finished and second and third placed Ashish Ramaswamy (July 17)For Vikash Anand, it was an up-and-down day. After having won the first race on Saturday, Anand struggled in the second and finished a distant sixth after a couple of off-track excursions while Hyderabad’s Anindith Reddy took the honours. However, Anand managed to gather himself and win the third race for a double.

The Indian Junior Touring Cars race saw a straight battle between the two championship contenders Ananth Pithawalla from Mumbai (Team N1) and Keith Desouza (UNIMEK Racing) with the former coming through while Deepak Ravikumar, a private entrant, topped in the Super Stock category that was run concurrently with the IJTC grid.

Raghul Rangasamy expectedly won the F1300 Rookie Championship race to complete a double despite going off the track when leading midway through the eight-lapper.

Meanwhile, Ishaan Dodhiwala and Niranjan Todkari emerged winners in the two Volkswagen Vento Cup races in contrasting styles. Dodhiwala came up with a fine move to get past front-runner and guest driver from China Li Li Huiwei on the last lap while Todkari enjoyed a lights-to-flag win.

The results (Provisional):

MRF F1600 (Race 2 – 10 laps): 1.Anindith Reddy (Hyderabad) (18mins, 47.123secs); 2.Raghul Rangasamy (Chennai) (18:56.753); 3.Sandeep Kumar (Chennai) (19: 07.235). Race-3 (8 laps): 1. Vikash Anand (Chennai) (15:34.366); 2. Anindith Reddy (Hyderabad) (15:38.277); 3. Raghul Rangasamy (Chennai) (15:41.771).

Indian Touring Cars (Race-3, 8 laps): 1. Deepak Paul Chinnappa (Race Concepts ENEOS) (16:29.580); 2. Arjun Narendran (Red Rooster Performance) (16:30.919); 3. Ashish Ramaswamy (Red Rooster Performance) (16:41.682).

Indian Junior Touring Cars (Race-2, 8 laps): 1.Ananth Pithawalla (Team N1) (17:48.538); 2.Keith Desouza (UNIMEK Racing) (17:51.754); 3.R Srihariram (Red Rooster Performance) (18:37.810).

Super Stock (Race-2, 8 laps): 1.Deepak Ravikumar (Pvt) (18:26,830); 2.Dean Mascarenhas (Race Concepts) (18:32.320); 3.Chandresh Tolia (Team Game Over) (18:37.404).

F1300 Rookie Championship (Race 2 – 8 laps): 1.Raghul Rangasamy (WSRF) (16:23.799); 2.Arya Singh (Momentum Motorsports) (16:28.025); 3.C Tejas Ram (WSRF) (16:30.914).

Volkswagen Vento Cup (Race-2, 10 laps): 1.Ishaan Dodhiwala (Hyderabad) (21:39.143); 2.Li Huiwei (China) (21:41.809); 3.Sirish Chandran (Pune) (21:52.109). Race-3 (8 laps): 1.Niranjan Todkari (Pune) (17:05.060); 2.Ketith DeSouza (Goa) (17:05.816); 3.Ishaan Dodhwala (Hyderabad) (17:14.866).

You may also like
Impressive win for Vikash Anand