Raghul keeps MRF F1600 crown

Mohite does the same in Indian Touring Cars category

MOTORSPORTS

SPORTS REPORTER CHENNAI

Mamallapuram's Raghul Rangasamy retained the title in the MRF F1600 category as did Kolhapur's Dhruv Shivaii Mohite in the Indian Touring Cars class on the concluding day of the MRF MMSC FMSCI Indian National Car Racing Championship here on Sunday. Also winning the National titles in their respective categories were Rithvik Thomas, the 26-year old from Bengaluru (Super Stock), Chennai's Ashwin Datta (Formula LGB 1300) who had sealed the title on Saturday itself, Hyderabad's Jeet Jhabakh (Ameo Class) and Aiman Sadat (Bangladesh, Ameo Class Junior).

Raghul, 26, thus, earned a sponsored drive from MRF Tyres in one round of the Civic Cup Racing Championship in the United Kingdom. Although he finished fifth in the last race, he picked up sufficient points to clinch the title for the second year in a row while finishing a highly productive weekend when he earned as many as 138 points.

The results (provisional, all eight laps unless mentioned):

MRF F1600: Race-3: 1. Raghul



Yet again: Raghul Rangasamy,centre, who won the MRF F1600 class for the second year in a row, flanked by Yash Aradhya (left) and Sohil Shah. •SPECIAL ARRANGEMENT

Rangasamy (Mamallapuram) (13:27.614); 2. Yash Aradhya (Bengaluru) (13:32.277); 3. Sohil Shah (Bengaluru) (13:33.707).

Race-4: 1. Nayan Chatterjee (Mumbai) (13:43.620); 2. Nirmal Umashankar (Chennai) (13:43.763); 3. Manav Sharma (Faridabad) (13:45.136).

Indian Touring Cars: Race-2 (10 laps): 1. Arjun Narendran (Arka Motorsports) (18:56.842); 2. Dhruv Shivaji Mohite (Rayo Racing) (19:16.864); 3. Karthik Tharani (Rayo Racing) (19:17.401).

Super Stock: Race-1 (7 laps): 1. Rithvik Thomas (Race Concepts) (14:10.391); 2. Sudanand Daniel (Race Concepts) (14:16.329); 3. Archit Mylanda (Race Concepts) (14:44.876). Race-2 (10 laps): 1. Rithvik (20:18.368); 2. Sudanand (20:30.084); 3. R. Raja Shekar (Race Concepts) (20:51.372).

Formula LGB 1300: Race-2: 1. Deepak Ravikumar (Momentum Motorsports) (15:34.910); 2. Tijil Rao (Momentum Motorsports) (15:37.407); 3. Arya Singh (DTS Racing) (15:40.848).

Volkswagen Ameo Class: Race-2: 1. Anmol Singh Sahil (Delhi) (15:43.297); 2.Jeeth Jhabakh (Hyderabad) (15:44.294); 3. Tasmin Pepper (South Africa) (15:44.692). Race-3: 1. Pepper (15:30.299); 2. Jeffrey Kruger (South Africa) (15:30.612); 3. Jeet (15:46.550).

National Championship winners: MRF F1600: Raghul. Indian Touring Cars: Dhruv. Team: Race Concepts (Bengaluru). Super Stock: Rithvik. Team: Race Concepts (Bengaluru). Formula LGB 1300: Ashwin Datta (Chennai, Momentum Motorsports). Team: Momentum Motorsports (Chennai). Volkswagen Ameo Class: Jeet Jhabakh (Hyderabad) and Aiman Sadat (Bangladesh, Junior).