Raghul keeps crown MOTORSPORTS

SPORTS REPORTER

CHENNAI

Mamallapuram's Raghul Rangasamy retained the tit-

le in the MRF F1600 category as did Kolhapur's Dhruv

Shivaji Mohite in the Indian Touring Cars class on the

concluding day of the MRF MMSC FMSCI Indian National Car Racing Championship

at the MMRT on Sunday. Also winning the National titles in their respective categories were Rithvik Tho-

mas, the 26-year old from Bengaluru (Super Stock), Chennai's Ashwin Datta (Formula LGB 1300) who had sealed the title on Satur-

day itself, Hyderabad's Jeet Ihabakh (Ameo Class) and Aiman Sadat (Bangladesh, Ameo Class Junior).

Raghul, 26, thus, earned a sponsored drive from MRF Tyres in one round of the Civic Cup Racing Championship in the United Kingdom. Although he finished fifth in the last race, he picked up sufficient points to clinch the title for the second year in a row while finishing a highly productive weekend when he earned as many as

"I am thrilled at this opportunity to race abroad and thank MRF for this opportunity which came as a pleasant surprise for me," said Raghul. The results (provisional, all

138 points.

eight laps unless mentioned): MRF F1600: Race-3: 1. Raghul

Rangasamy (Mamallapuram) (13:27.614); 2. Yash Aradhya (Bengaluru) (13:32.277); 3. So-

Shah (Bengaluru) (13.33.707)

Race-4: 1. Navan Chatteriee (Mumbai) (13:43.620); 2. Nirmal Umashankar (Chennai)

(13:43.763); 3. Manav Sharma (Faridabad) (13:45.136). Indian Touring Cars: Race-2

(10 laps): 1. Arjun Narendran (Arka Motorsports) (18:56.842); 2. Dhruv Shivaji

(Ravo Racing) (19:16.864); 3. Karthik Tharani (Rayo Racing) (19:17.401).

Super Stock: Race-1 (7 laps): 1. Rithvik Thomas (Race Concepts) (14:10.391); 2. Suda-

nand Daniel (Race Concepts) (14:16.329); 3. Archit Mylanda (Race Concepts) (14:44.876). Race-2 (10 laps): 1. Rithvik

(20:18.368); 2. Sudanand (20:30.084); 3. R. Raja Shekar (Race Concepts) (20:51.372). Formula LGB 1300: Race-2: 1.

Deepak Ravikumar (Momentum Motorsports) (15:34.910); 2. Tijil Rao (Momentum Motorsports) (15:37.407); 3. Arya Singh (DTS Racing) (15:40.848).

Volkswagen Ameo Race-2: 1. Anmol Singh Sahil (Delhi) (15:43.297); 2.Jeeth Jhabakh (Hyderabad) (15:44,294): 3. Tasmin Pepper

Jeffrey Kruger (South Africa) (15:30.612): (15:46.550). National Championship win-

Race-3: 1. Pepper (15:30.299);

(South Africa) (15:44.692).

ners: MRF F1600: Raghul. Indian Touring Cars: Dhruv. Team: Race Concepts (Benga-

luru). Super Stock: Rithvik. Team:

Race Concepts (Bengaluru). Formula LGB 1300: Ashwin Datta (Chennai, Momentum

Motorsports). Team: Momentum Motorsports (Chennai). Volkswagen Ameo Class: Jeet Jhabakh (Hyderabad) and Aiman Sadat (Bangladesh).