#### BENGALURU ROUND-UP

21-11.

#### Manay's ton in vain

Manav Bhagat's century (101 n.o.) went in vain as Jawahar SC beat Vikram CC by three wickets in the YS Ramaswamy Memorial tournament. For Jawahar, Vidwath Kaverappa (four for 18) and Jayesh Babu (79 n.o.) were the top performers.

The scores: Swastic Union CC 162 for four in 24 overs (R. Samarth 74 n.o., Siddharth 39, Zeeshan Ali Sayyed three for 25) bt BUCC 149 for seven in 24 overs (Sharath Srinivas 74) Match reduced to 24 overs following rain.

Jawans CC 228 for nine in 50 overs (Rohan Kadam 69, Swapnil Yelave 47, I.G. Anil three for 52, S.A. Rishi Bopanna three for 46) bt Friends Union CC 142 in 31.2 overs (G.S. Chiranjeevi 57, Lochan S. Gowda 25, S.A. Rishi Bopanna 26, Bhavesh Gulechha three for 20).

Palace Orchard CC 200 in 43.1 overs (H.C. Abhishek 88, Maan 31, Nitesh Kuntal 33, Ritesh Bhatkal four for 41) lost to Social Cricketers 177 for four in 26.2 overs (S. Rakshith 73 n.o.,

Akshav Ballal 47, Ritesh Bhatkal 26 n.o.) Target revised to 177 from 44 overs following rain. Wilson Garden CC 257 for five in 50 overs (Yashwant 101, Kuldeep Kumar 75, Rakshit Sharma 32 n.o.) lost to Vultures CC 224 for two in 37 overs (Mashoog Hussain 54, J. Suchith 77, N.G. Suiith 81 n.o.) On better run-rate. Vikram CC 165 in 45.3 overs (Manav Bhagat 101 n.o., Vidwath Kaverappa four for 18) lost to Jawahar SC 166 for seven in 34.4 overs (Javesh Babu 79 n.o., K.C. Cariappa 37). Dooravani Cricketers 118 in 37.1 overs (M.Y. Rohan 27, B.R. Yatish Kumar 41, Ayush Kumar

Barik three for 33) lost to Cambridge CC 119 for five in 18.1 overs (Devdutt Padikkal 36).

Mount Joy CC 196 in 45.2 overs (Akshan Rao 26, Ayush 43, Rishab Singh 39, Alex four for 39, Ghanshyam Chouhan three for 30) bt Merchants CC (2) 103 for five in 37.4 overs (V.L. Suraj 37, K. Bharath 31) On better run-rate.

### **Ruhaan Alwa wins**

Bengaluru's Ruhaan Alwa emerged the 2019 junior champion in the X-30 class of the JK Tyre-FMSCI National karting championship on Saturday. City mate Ishaan Madhesh took the title in the cadet category.

Ruhaan sealed his victory in Race 1, adding 34 points to the 164 he had amassed in five earlier rounds, to earn a berth in the World Karting finals in France next month. Ishan, meanwhile, took three more races to accumulate the required 36 points and finished with a total of 189 points.

The results: Senior: 1. Nirmal Umashankar (160); 2. Aditya Swaminathan (101); 3. Debarun Banerjee (81).

Junior: 1. Ruhaan Alva (164); 2. Arjun Nair (134); 3. Ryan Mohammed (91).

Cadet: 1. Ishaan Madesh (189 points); 2. Shriya Lohia (134); 3. Sai Shiva Makesh Sankaran (117).

#### Chandan scores four

Chandan Biju starred with four goals as Karnataka hammered Tamil Nadu 8-1 in the south zone qualifiers of the National sub-junior football championship on Saturday.

The result: Karnataka 8 (Chandan Biju 9, 12, 14, 65, Parikram Borah 23, 27, R. Rajat 64, Gautam Rajesh 90+4) bt Tamil Nadu 1 (Akil Jensen 54).

## Karnataka makes semifinals

Karnataka girls beat Uttar Pradesh 69-49 to enter the semifinals of the sub-junior National basketball championship being held in Cuttack.

The result: Karnataka 69 (M.K. Yashaswini 17, Harini G.Iyer 11) bt Uttar Pradesh 49 (Tejaswini 13, Aanavi 12, Deepikka 10).

#### Kiran upsets top-seed Hemantha

Kiran Balaji upset top seed Hemantha M. Gowda 21-17, 24-22 to enter the men's singles semifinals of the Yonex Sunrise State badminton championship. Second seed Raghu Mariswamy also bit the dust, losing to Daniel S. Farid 21-13, 18-21, 21-9. Other results (quarterfinals): Men: Anirudh S. Deshpande bt B. Chirag 21-19, 21-15; S. Bhargay bt M. Rohith 21-12,

Women: Ruth Misha Vinod bt Kriti Bharadwaj 21-14, 21-19; N.S. Prerana bt Spandana Bekal 21-7, 11-21, 21-6; D. Sheethal bt Varsha Vineeth Bhat 21-15, 21-17; Gloria Vinaykumar Athavale bt Riya Pillai 21-19, 22-20.

## Vidya Pillai is champion

Vidya Pillai overcame Varshaa Sanjeev in the final to clinch the Women 6 Red snooker State-ranking tournament.

The results: Final: Vidya Pillai bt Varshaa Sanjeev 4-2 (16-38, 35-25, 34-23, 23-41, 36-05, 46-18). Third-place playoff: P. Keerthana bt Indira Gowda 3-1 (43-00, 08-46, 39-11, 47-06). M. Chenniappan veteran snooker: Final: B.V.S. Murthy

# bt Stephen 2-0 (70-38, 74-36). Canara Bank triumphs

Canara Bank defeated MSSTTA-B 3-1 to clinch the team title at the R.S.

Shakuntala Memorial Stateranking table tennis tournament.

#### The result:

Final: Canara Bank bt MSSTTA-B [B. Soham bt Shreyas Kulkarni 9-11, 11-4, 11-9, 11-6; Tanmay Rane bt Samarth Kurdikeri 11-9, 9-11, 11-8, 11-5; Maria Rony lost to Nikhil Nanda 11-9, 5-11, 11-5, 8-11, 7-11; B. Soham bt Samarth Kurdikeri 11-9, 13-11, 8-11, 11-41.

#### Chinmaya Vidyalaya blanks DPS

Neha scored four as Chinmaya Vidyalaya blanked DPS 8-0 in the BHA Statelevel inter-school girls' hockey tournament.

The results: Chinmaya Vidyalaya 8 (Neha 2, 13, 21, 24, Shreya 5, G. Kavana 6, 18, Chaithanya 23) bt DPS 0; FAPS 3 (Meher Gaur 9, Manasa Manikandan 24, Kshama Tiwari 30) bt Head Start School 3 (Narayani Haldar 8, Ayushi Paliwal 17, Chhavi Agarwal 31) [5-4 after a shoot-out].



Champions: Ruhaan Alva (junior class), Nirmal Umashankar (senior) and Ishaan Madesh (cadet), winners at the JK Tyre FMSCI National Karting Championship's X30 in Bengaluru.

■ SPECIAL ARRANGEMENT