## Top racers for National motorcyle racing

## MOTORSPORTS

SPORTS REPORTER

India's top two-wheeler racers and manufacturers — Honda, TVS, Yamaha and KTM — will return to action in the fourth and penultimate round of the MRF MMSC FMSCI National motorcycle racing championship, commencing at the MMRT, here on Friday, September 6.

The 2019 season has been a roller-coaster with reputations taking a beating and it has thrown open the race for the titles in various categories wide open.

## Fight for points

Viewed in this context, this weekend's races assume added significance as the contenders go wheel-to-wheel for precious championship points.

Chennai-based TVS Rac-

ing pair of Deepak Ravikumar (101 points) and K. Y. Ahamed (98), both with two wins apiece from six starts, head the 301-400cc class where defending champion Satyanarayana Raju (Gusto Racing) is placed sixth with 51 points with just one win.

The popular Pro-Stock 165cc class has seen longtime rivals Idemitsu Honda Ten10 Racing and TVS Racing, locked in a fierce fight.

Honda's international rider Chennai's Rajiv Sethu, after missing the first round due to his commitments in Japan, won four races in a row to lead the championship with 100 points, ahead of seven-time National champion Jagan Kumar of TVS Racing (94) who, in turn, enjoys a one-point lead over Honda's Sarath Kumar.

Both Jagan and Sarath have won one race apiece.