## Sohil springs a surprise

Steals the thunder from Chennai stars Vishnu and defending champion Raghul

## **MOTORSPORTS**

RAYAN ROZARIO

It was expected to be a showdown between Chennai stars Vishnu Prasad and defending champion Raghul Rangasamy.

But, Sohil Shah, a young boy from Bengaluru, took everybody by surprise winning the premier FLGB4 opening race in the second round of the JK Tyre-FMSCI National racing championship here on Saturday.

The race went down to the wire with Vishnu, starting at P4, moving ahead of privateers Manav Dougall and Akshay Kapoor from Delhi by the first corner.

## Clever move

But, even before he could hang on to it, Kerala's T.S. Diljith of Dark Don Racing had made a clever move to jump into the lead.

He fought hard from there.



**Tense battle:** Sohil Shah (24), T.S. Diljith and Vishnu Prasad locked in a close fight for lead in the Formula LGB4 race. \*SPECIAL ARRANGEMENT

but Sohil and Vishnu (both MSport) kept breathing down his neck. Diljith found it so hot that after fighting it out for over seven laps, finally surrendered the lead to Vishnu.

Sohil, who was watching all the action from behind, waited for the right opportunity to sneak in. He found it quite soon and, there was no turning back from there.

The race was delayed for over two hours due to technical safety regulations.

## The results (provisional):

**FLGB4:** Sohil Shah (Bengaluru) 20:05.863; 2. T.S. Diljith (Kerala); 3. Vishnu Prasad (Chennai).

Suzuki Gixxer Cup: Race 1: 1. Tanay Gaikwad (Pune)10:07.050; 2. Syed Muzammil Ali (Bengaluru); 3. Sidharth Sajan (Coimbatore).

JK Tyre Novice Cup: Race 1: 1. Aaroh Ravindra (Mumbai) 12:17.448; 2. Chirag Ghorpade (Bengaluru); 3. Mohamed Ryan (Chennai). **Race 2:** 1. Mohamed Ryan 12:11.047; 2. Aaroh Ravindra; 3. Udbhav Goyal (Gurgaon).

JK Tyre College Cup: Race 1: 1. David Ryan (Chennai) 11:44.004; 2. Aman Chaudhary (Kolkata); 3. Sai Prithvi (Chennai). Race 2: 1. David Ryan 10:22.369; 2. Chetan Surineni (Bengaluru); 3. Kedin Akhil (Kolkata).