## Balu and Rithvik complete double

**Chennai:** On a day that began in heavy showers and ended in bright sunshine, Coimbatore veteran Arjun Balu (Race Concepts) completed a grand double in the Indian Touring Cars class to head the leaderboard in the fourth round of the MRF MMSC FMSCI Indian National Car Racing Championship at the MMRT here on Sunday.

## **MOTOR SPORT**

Bengaluru's Rithvik Thomas (Race Concepts) also achieved a double in the Super Stock category. He won the third race, his second of the weekend.

Overshadowing the day's proceedings was the 10-car pile-up in the MRF F1600 race that started in heavy showers and lasted barely 300 metres as polesitter Yash Aradhya spun when he put wheels into a puddle, thus losing grip. The cars behind him, with nowhere to go, crashed into one another resulting in the abandonment of the race. None of the drivers suffered injuries barring cuts and bruises.

Provisional results: Indian Touring Cars (Race-1, 6 laps): 1. Arjun Balu (12: 49.794); 2. Aditya Patel (12:50.491); 3. Dhruv Shivaji Mohite (12:58.907). Race-2 (10 laps): 1. DS Mohite (21:19.565); 2. A Patel (21:20.682); 3. A Balu (12:8.378). Race-3 (8 laps): 1. A Balu (15:11.978); 2. A Patel (15:17.508); 3. Ishaan Dodhiwala (15:28.324).

Super Stock (Race-1, 6 laps): 1. Sudanand Daniel (14:15:475); 2. Rithvik Thomas (14:15:787); 3. R Rajashekar (14:45:952). Race 2 (10 laps): 1. RP Rajarajan (22:15:115); 2. Rithvik (22:27:432); 3. S Daniel (22:28:759). Race 3 (8 laps): 1. Rithvik (16:15:162); 2. S Daniel (16:15:951); 3. RP Rajarajan (16:40.747).

Volkswagen Ameo Class (Race-2, 8 laps): 1. Jeet Jhabakh (20:09.577); 2. Aiman Sadat (Bangladesh, 20:12.811); 3. Siddharth Mehdiratta (20:13.363). Race-3 (8 laps): 1. Prateek Sonawane (16:00.024); 2. Sidharth M (16:01.383); 3. Shobhomoy Ball (Bengaluru, 16:06.481). AGENCIES