## Sohil Shah notches up a fine win

## **MOTORSPORTS**

SPORTS REPORTER

CHENNAL

Bengaluru teenager Sohil Shah made the best of the pole-position start to notch a fine win in the premier MRF F1600 category and head the leaderboard in round four of the MRF MMSC FMSCI Indian National Car Racing Championship at the MMRT here on Saturday, that had a delayed start owing to the rains in the morning.

Due to the late start, only two of the four races scheduled for the day could be completed. The remaining races would be added to the six slated for Sunday which will have an early start at 8.15 am.



Sohil Shah.

In the day's other action, Mumbai's Saurav Bandyopadhyay took the honours in the Ameo Class race while Coimbatore ace Arjun Balu of Race Concepts (01:51.474) and team-mate Bengaluru's Rithvik Thomas (01:59.425) grabbed pole positions in the Indian Touring Cars and the Super Stock categories, res-

pectively. The lights-to-flag win today was Sohil's third success in a row, having won the last two races in the previous round last month. With three more races are scheduled for this category tomorrow, Sohil heads the championship with 81 points, well clear of Mumbai's Nayan Chatterjee (63).

The results (Provisional): MRF F1600 (Race-one, Six laps): 1. Sohil Shah (Bengaluru) 1 (11mins, 26.939secs); 2. Sandeep Kumar (Chennai) (11:28.164); 3. Manav Sharma (Faridabad) (11:28.569).

Volkswagen Ameo Class (Race-1, 6 laps): 1. Saurav Bandyopadhyay (Mumbai) (11:38.169); 2. Shubhomoy Ball (Bengaluru) (11:42.374); 3. Pratik Sonawane (Pune) (11:43.025).