Datta leads team podium sweep

Chennai, July 20: Chennai younster Ashwin Datta led a podium sweep for his team Momentum Motorsports in the highly competitive Formula LGB 1300 category, holding off two Bengaluru schoolboys in the MRF MMSC FMSCI National Racing Championship here on Saturday.

Nayan Chatterjee (Mumbai) and local challenger Vishnu Prasad won a race apiece in the premium MRF F1600 class. Also in the limelight was Coimbatore veteran Arjun Balu (Race Concepts), who shrugged off a poor qualifying session where he finished fifth, and won the popular Indian Touring Cars race with a measure of comfort. Chennai's R P Rajarajan took the honours in the Super Stock category after a tough fight and Pune lad Pratik Sonawane topped in the Volkswagen Ameo Class race. Datta, 20, who was runner-up to Sohil Shah in the

LGB 1300 championship last season, overcame a sluggish start when he dropped from second to third before recovering to grab the lead and chalk up his second win of the season. Finishing second and third behind him respectively were two Bengaluru schoolboys, Tijil Rao (16), who had started from pole position and Chirag Ghorpade, only 14.

In the first MRF F1600 race, Chatterjee benefitted from a drive-through penalty for pole-sitter Sohil Shah from Bengaluru for a jump start. Once in the front, he opened up a comfortable lead to win from Chennais Nirmal Umashankar and Coimbatores Bala Prasath.

Sohil Shah posted the fastest lap of the race.

In the next race, Vishnu Prasad, starting fourth on the grid, rocketed off the blocks to take the lead in the first lap itself and then hung on to win ahead of Sandeep Kumar and Raghul Rangasamy. — *PTI*