CITY SPORTS

Gahan triumphs

Top seed **Gahan MG** scored a 24-move win over Ajay SM with



black pieces in the final round to emerge triumphant in the state U-25 chess championship in

Kalaburgi on Sunday. The Mangaluru player finished with 8.5 points, a full point ahead of the second-placed Ithal HL Rajath and Vivekananda L. The former took the second spot on the basis of a better tie-break score. Prashanth J Naik finished fourth. The top four will represent Karnataka at the National U-25 tourney in Jammu next month.

Important results (Final round): Ajay SM (6) lost to Gahan MG (8.5); Vivekananda L (7.5) drew with Ithal HL Rajath (7.5); Varma Shabdhik (6.5) lost to Sujay BM (7); Prashanth J Naik (7) bt Ggn BR (6); Damodar Mundrikeri (6) lost to Siddhant Dharwar (7).

Naveen given top billing: KS
Naveen Kumar finished with an
all win record in Group 'F' and
was given the top billing in the
reseeding for the knockouts in
the men's 9-ball state-ranking
tournament in Bengaluru on
Monday. Qualifiers for knockout
pre-quarters: Kushal C, Anand HE, L
Nagaraj, Deepak A, D Rajkumar, Abhishek R,
Bharat Ramakrishna, Amit Bhushan, ML

Lakshman, Jeya Krishna R, KS Naveen Kumar, Santosh Kumar A, Varun V, Sean Davis, Madhu Chandra, Daksh Reddy.

Double for DPS (North): Delhi Public School (North) bagged a splendid double (U-14 & U-12) in the Gopalan inter-school Challenge Cricket Championship in Bengaluru on Monday. In the U-14 final, DPS, riding on Kairav Reddy's 102, scored a crushing 107-run win over St Joseph's Boys' School. In the U-12 category, DPS defeated Gopalan National School by 15 runs. Brief scores (Finals): U-14: DPS (North): 171/3 in 20 overs (Kairav Reddy 102, Samith R 29; Hamza 2-33) bt St Joseph's Boys' School: 64 all out in 17.3 overs (Aryan 30; Shreyansh N 3-12, Nishchinth 2-5). U-12: DPS (North): 134/4 in 20 overs (Chiranth 56, Udgeet S Nandan 28; Charvik 2-36) bt Gopalan National School: 119/7 in 20 overs (Vishnu A

Mohsin and Bengaluru's Mihir Suman Avalakki held on to the lead after Round 2 of the Rotax Class of the JK Tyre-FMSCI National Karting Championship in Bengaluru over the weekend.

Standings after Round 2: Micro Max: 1.

Ishaan Madesh (Peregrine Racing) 178 pts; 2.

Jagrat Detroja (Peregrine Racing) 166 pts; 3.

Anshul Sai Shivakumar (Birel Art) 157 pts;

Junior Max: 1 Mihir Avalakkai (Birel Art) 172 pts; 2. Rishon (Birel Art) 172 pts; 3.

Ruhaan Alva (Birel Art) 165 pts; Senior Max: 1. Shahan Ali Mohsin (MSports) 175 pts; 2.

Manav Sharma (Peregrine Racing) 173 pts; 3.

Bala Prasath (MSports) 160 pts.

23; Adhvik KN 2-19, Talha Sheriff 2-24).

Mihir shines: Agra's Shahan Ali