First big victory for Dean

Gill goes for the kill on the final day to finish third

INRC

RAYAN ROZARIO

CHENNAI

Overnight leader Dean Mascarenhas (Shruptha Padival) of Team Champions held his nerve to finish on top in the overall category of the 41st South India Rally, the first round of the Champions Yacht Club - FMSCI Indian National Rally Championship, here on Sunday.

With Gaurav Gill (Musa Sherif) pushing to the maximum in almost every stage and Fabid Ahmer (G. Sanath) fighting as well, Dean withstood the pressure to wear the crown.

"This is my first overall win and it took nine years to do that. I think I made JK Tyre proud of having sponsored me. I have done it today on my first full sponsorship. I am so thrilled," said Dean.

But the day began with Gill on a smashing mood. There were some big changes (suspension, chassis and



Topping the podium: Dean Mascarenhas (left) and co-driver Shruptha Padival enjoy the win. • SPECIAL ARRANGEMENT

dynamics) made to the car and the team also 'found a tune' that suited the current day temperatures.

He was the second fastest on the first stage (tarmac) and was the quickest by a big margin in the next (Aavisa). Unfortunately for him, there were some cows on the road and he had to stop.

The results: INRC Overall: 1. Dean Mascarenhas & Shruptha Padival 1:45.10.8s; 2. Fabid Ahmer & G. Sanath 1:45:24.4; 3. Gaurav Gill & Musa Sherif 1:45:27.6.

INRC: 1. Gaurav Gill & Musa Sherif; 2. Phalguna URS & Srikanth Gowda 1:48:04.5.

INRC 2: Dean Mascarenhas & Shruptha Padival; 2. Rahul Kan-thraj & Vivek Bhatt 1:45:28.6; 3. M. Ritesh Guttedar & H.J. Lokaranjan1:53:13.3.

INRC 3: 1. Fabid Ahmer & G. Sanath; 2. Arjun Rao & Shanmuga Sundaram 1:46:40.2; 3. Daraius Shroff & Sheeraz Ahmed 1:47:40.7.

INRC 4: 1. Vaibhav Marate & Arjun SSB 1:53:02.1; 2. Rakshith Iyer & Chandrashekar 1:54:30.7; 3. Shirole Prakhyat & S.M. Bharath 1:59:19.7.