## Motorsport spirit soared high at the FMSCI Awards Function

**Hyderabad:** The awards giving ceremony, an annual feature in the Federation of Motor Sports Club of India (FMSCI), was organised at a much more lavish scale this year under the stewardship of its recently elected president Akbar Ibrahim. As many as 75 winners were presented with trophies for their victorious efforts in the year gone by.

Five time National Rally Champion Gaurav Gill was decorated with the prestigious 'motorsports person of the year award' here on Friday at a glittering function attended by the entire galaxy of racing and rallying stars in the country.

Gill, the reigning Asia Pacific Champion had a spectacular 2016, winning all five rounds of the APRC to set a new record, received the Raymond Gautam Singhania Trophy from Jean Todt, the president of FIA (Le Federation Internationale de l'Automobile). A packed banquet hall stood up in unison to applaud his feat.

"It's an honour to receive the trophy from Mr Todt, one of the legends in the world of racing," Gill, who has already won the trophy twice earlier, said in his acceptance speech. "I will have to win it again and again so that it stays in my cabinet," he quipped, referring to the fact that it's a rolling trophy.

Mr B Vijay Kumar, owner of the Kari Motor Speedway, was also given the lifetime achievement award for his immense contribution to the field of motorsports in the country.

"This is a special day for motor sports as the FMSCI was formed exactly on this day, 44 years ago," Akbar said. "I am proud to say that we had as many as 350 tournaments through the year, which makes us the third most active motor sporting country in Asia," he added.

He promised to take the sport and the country to greater glory by bringing in more world class events while also ensuring that the infrastructure and quality of officiating reaches international standards. "We will tie up with all our partners so that racing not only becomes

cheaper for our drivers and teams but also a much better experience," he promised.

Akbar also pointed out that a new wing has already been commissioned to empower women and help them race in various disciplines, including motocross, drag racing and rallying.

FIA president Todt, the brain and power behind Ferrari's much feared Formula One team, couldn't stop marvelling at India's amazing culture and fascinating traditions.

'You are a country of over a billion people. We have a great challenge ahead of us. But it provides us so many wonderful opportunities too," he declared. "India has always been a very strong federation in the FIA and I want to tell you that you now have a very strong ally in me to develop motor sport in the country," he added.

#### All the award winners:

**Life Time Achievement Award**: B. Vijaykumar; Motorsports person of the year, Gaurav Gill; Celebrating 50 years of competition in motorsports: D Vidyaprakash

# • JK Tyre FMSCI National Racing Championship

LGB Formula 4 - National Champion Driver: Vishnu Prasad; LGB Formula 4 - National Champion Team: Meco Racing; Euro JK 16 - National Champion Drive: Anindith Reddy Konda

# MRF MMSC FMSCI Indian National Racing Championship

MRF FF 1600 National Champion Driver: G. Vikash Anand; Indian Touring Cars (ITC) - National Champion Driver: Arjun Narendran; Indian Touring Cars (ITC) - National Champion Team: Red Rooster Racing; Indian Junior Touring Cars (IJTC) - National Champion Driver: Keith DeSouza; Indian Junior Touring Cars (IJTC) - National Champion Team: Red Rooster Racing; Super Stock - National Champion Driver: Raghul Rangaswamy; Super Stock - National Champion Team: Race Concepts; F 1300 - National Champion Driver: Raghul Rangaswamy; F1300 - National Champion Team: Wallace Sports & Research Foundation;

#### **Outstanding Women in Motorsport Award:**

- In Karting Mira Erda
- In Single Seater Racing Sneha Sharma
- In 2w Racing Aishwarya Pissay & Shruthi Nagarajan
- In Rallying = Bani Yadav

## MRF FMSCI Indian National Rally Championship

Indian National Rally Champion - Driver: Karna Kadur; Indian National Rally Champion - Co Driver: Nikhil V Pai; Indian National Rally Champion - Team: Indian National Rally Champion - Team: Mahindra Adventure; Indian National Rally Champion Driver - 2000cc: Karna Kadur; Indian National Rally Champion Co-Driver - 2000cc: Nikhil V Pai; Indian National Rally Champion

2000cc Team: Yokohama; Indian Rally Champion - Driver: Abhilash P.G.; Indian Rally Champion - Co-Driver: Srikanth Gowda; Indian Rally Champion - Team: R3A PGA Motorsports

Maruti Suzuki FMSCI National SuperLeague TSD Rally Championship National Champion Crew: Karthick Maruthi / Sankar Anand S; National Champion Driver: Karthick Maruthi; National Champion Navigator: Musthafa M

#### **Outstanding achievement in World Motorsport**

Armaan Ebrahim: Winner of the Lamborghini Super Trofeo Series 2016; Jehan Daruvalla: 2nd in the Formula Toyota Championship in New Zealand; Akash Gowda – 3rd in the FIA South East Asia F4 Championship; Shahan Ali Moshin – Asia Max Karting Championship – 1st in the Micro Max Class; Ricky Donison – Asia Max Karting Championship – 2nd in the Senior Max Class; Nayan Chatterjee – Asia Max Karting Championship – 2nd in the Shifter Class

#### JK Tyre FMSCI National Rotax Karting Championship

Micro Max - National Champion Driver: Shahan Ali Mohsin; Micro Max - National Champion Team: Meco racing; Junior Max - National Champion Driver: Manav Sharma; Junior Max - National Champion Team: BPC Racing; Senior Max - National Champion Driver: Ricky Donison; Senior Max - National Champion Team: BPC Racing

# The MRF MMSC FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship

- 1. Super Sport Indian 300-400 cc National Champion Rider- AMI VAN POEDEROOIJEN
- 2. Super Sport Indian 300-400 cc National Champion Team- ROCKSTAR RACING
- 3. Super Sport Indian 300-400 cc National Champion Manfacturer- KTM
- 4. Super Sport Indian 165 cc National Champion Rider- JAGAN K
- 5. Super Sport Indian 165 cc National Champion Team- TVS RACING
- 6. Super Sport Indian 165 cc National Champion Manufacturer- TVS
- 7. Pro Stock upto 165 cc National Champion Rider- RAJIV SETHU
- 8. Pro Stock upto 165 cc National Champion Team- HONDA TEN 10 RACING
- 9. Pro Stock upto 165 cc National Champion Manufacturer- HONDA
- 10. Stock upto 165 cc National Champion Rider- JOSEPH MATHEW P
- 11. Stock upto 165 cc National Champion Team- SPARK RACING
- 12. Stock upto 165 cc National Champion Manufacturer- YAMAHA

#### MRF MOGRIP FMSCI National Supercross Championship

Class 1 - Sx 1 - Gp "A"Upto 250Cc (2Stroke) & 500C (4 Stroke) - National Champion Rider

- Abdul Wahid Tanveer

Class 2 - Novice Class - Group "C" - Stroke 2/4 - Upto 260Cc - National Champion Rider

- Jagadeesh Kumar B

Class 3 - Indian Experts Class - Group "B" - Stroke 2/4 - Upto 260Cc - National Champion Rider

- Nataraj R

Class 5 - Indian Experts Class - Group "C" - Stroke 2/4 - Upto 260Cc - National Champion Rider

- Nataraj R

**Class 6** - Experts Class - Group "C" - Stroke 2/4 - Upto 260Cc - National Champion Rider

- Suhail Ahmed

Class 7 - Sx 2 - Group "A" - Upto 250Cc (2Stroke) & 500C (4 Stroke) - National Champion Rider

- Rugved Barguje

Class 8 - Jr Sx - Group "A/B/C/D" - Upto 250Cc -Stroke 2/4 - National Champion Rider

- Karan Karle

# The MRF MOGRIP FMSCI National Rally Championship 2W:

National Rally Champion – Rider- Abdul Wahid Tanveer

National Rally Champion – Team- TVS RACING

Super Bike Pro Expert - National Champion Rider- Abdul Wahid Tanveer

Super Bike - National Champion Rider- Vishwas S.D.

Super Sport 130 cc -National Champion Rider- Shivakumar R

Super Sport 165 cc - National Champion Rider- Rajendra R.E.

Super Sport 260 cc - National Champion Rider- Suhail Ahmed

Super Sport 400 cc - National Champion Rider- Venu Ramesh Kumar

Super Sport 550 cc - National Champion Rider- Aakash Aithal

Scooter - National Champion Rider- Syed Asif Ali